City Council Subcommittees and Outside Boards, Commissions and Committees

The City Council creates subcommittees as needed to accomplish the work of the Council. Subcommittees are categorized in two types as described below, Standing or Ad Hoc. Subcommittees are used at the discretion of the Council to assist meeting the goals and objectives of the Council in an effective and efficient manner. Subcommittees do not replace the work or decision-making process of the City Council as a whole.

In addition, during the first regularly scheduled City Council meeting in January of each year the City Council appoint themselves to positions on boards, commissions or committees of other public agencies, special districts, and/or joint powers agencies or authorities, such as the Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) and the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG). 

Outside Boards, Commissions and Committees

The list of Council assignments to outside boards, commissions and committees may be found here.

Standing Subcommittees

Standing Committees are more permanent in nature and address ongoing areas of interest to the City Council. Standing Subcommittees are subject to the Brown Act requirements for public notification and record keeping. Currently, the City Council has three Standing Subcommittees:

Animal Welfare Subcommittee (Councilmember Dillard and Councilmember Shu) 

Audit Subcommittee (Mayor Arapostathis and Councilmember Shu)

Development Approvals Council Liaison Subcommittee (Councilmember Dillard and Councilmember Lothian)

Downtown Village Promotion and Events Subcommittee (Councilmember Dillard and Councilmember Lothian)

MacArthur Park – Community Center Subcommittee (Councilmember Dillard and Councilmember Shu)

Ad Hoc Subcommittees

Ad Hoc Subcommittees are more temporary in nature and focus on a specific task, which when completed, ends the subcommittee’s role as well. Ad Hoc Subcommittees typically will not last over an extended time period and the primary task or goal of the subcommittee should remain constant. Ad Hoc Subcommittees may not be subject to the provisions of the Brown Act, although efforts to gather public input as a part of the subcommittee assignment will provide adequate notice and community outreach to insure meaningful community involvement. The City Council currently has formed seven Ad Hoc Subcommittees:

Accessory Dwelling Units Subcommittee (Councilmember Lothian and Councilmember Parent)

American Rescue Plan Act Funding Subcommittee (Councilmember Lothian and Councilmember Parent)

Citizen Emergency Preparedness Subcommittee (Mayor Arapostathis and Councilmember Shu)

Civic Center Master Plan Subcommittee (Mayor Arapostathis and Councilmember Parent)

Climate Action Plan Subcommittee (Councilmember Dillard and Councilmember Shu)

Extension of Proposition L Subcommittee (Mayor Arapostathis and Councilmember Dillard)

Housing Affordability Subcommittee (Councilmember Parent and Councilmember Shu)

Review of the Design Review Board Subcommittee (Councilmember Lothian and Councilmember Parent)