Planning Commission


  • 7:00 pm
  • First and third Wednesdays of each month
  • City Council Chambers
    La Mesa City Hall
    8130 Allison Ave.
    La Mesa, CA 91942
  • Additional meetings may be held as required

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings and minutes are available following approval.
Agendas and Minutes


Name Term Expires
Polly Kanavel June 30, 2020
Andrew Torpey June 30, 2020
Barrett Tetlow June 30, 2021
Stosh Podeswik June 30, 2021
Michele Hottel June 30, 2021
Jim Newland June 30, 2022
Christopher Kelly June 30, 2023


The Planning Commission consists of seven members appointed by the City Council. Members must be resident electors of the City of La Mesa.

Members are appointed for four-year terms and are subject to the city's Conflict of Interest Code. Members receive $50 as compensation for attendance at all duly held meetings.


The commission:
  • Serves as an advisory body to the City Council on land use matters, including review of development plans for consistency with the General Plan, Zoning Ordinance, Subdivision Ordinance, and Sign Ordinance
  • Review of Special Permits, Conditional Use Permits and Variances
  • Reviews appeals from staff and Development Advisory Board determinations
  • Other duties as required by state law